Userpic

loucia89
Traveller
1 comments

Posted 16 years ago

hey guys..
i m planning an interrail trip this summer for 22 days..
i want to buy a a guide and i dont know which is the best one since its my first time going on interrail..
first should i buy a guide for hole europe or should i buy two for example one for western and one for central europe??
second..'
for europe i found two. the Europe on a shoestring from lonely planet
and Europe on a budget from THE ROUGH GUIDES books..
dont know which one to buy..
and at last..the book europe on a budget i found is for 2008..i want to know if i can find europe on a shoestring updated for 2008 and whether i have to wait till the new version of it is published or if it is already published updated..thanks in advance..!!xxxxxx

[b]UPDATE travel books:[/b] [u]https://rail.cc/en/information[/u]

Follow this topic
Userpic

admin
Traveller
203 comments

replied 16 years ago

i usually go for the lonely planet books, they dont seem to miss anything out, i find the layout much more helpful as well. i'm pretty sure there was a lonely planet europe book released last year, that will surely be fresh enough to use.

Userpic

spainlover
Traveller
1 comments

replied 16 years ago

Hi,

The Rough Guide came out on 3rd March, I think that makes it a bit more recent than the Lonely Planet.
I think it depends how many countries you are planning to visit and the depth you are going to go into, ie just a couple of towns/cities per country, or a longer stay, as to whether a whole Europe guide or two or more separate ones is better. If you're travelling for a long time you might not want to be weighed down by too many books, so you could always get one and do additional internet research.