Userpic

JD
Traveller
6 comments

Posted 16 years ago

I am a complete noob not only to Interrailng but also backpacking, but Im planning on going around Europe for the Summer (2-3months).

Is the rail pass only available for 1 month max?

Also do you normally book the place your going to stay before you get there or is it easy enough to find accommodation in the major cities on the day you arrive?

Follow this topic
Userpic

admin
Traveller
203 comments

replied 16 years ago

Hi there and welcome; we've all been nubes.

Yep, one month max. Hostels are best booked in advance for the busy season and popular places. You can use a site like [ux]https://rail.shop/hostelworld[/ux] which will show availabilty and cost and will give you directions and reviews. You can also paste the hostel address into Google Earth to see if it is near railway stations and beaches, etc.

A small deposit can be made to secure your booking and cancellations and changes are possible. Most hostels have the internet and many offer it free but it really is better to book as far ahead as you can to plan your trip and to avoid disappointment. Hope this is helpful. Have almost excellent trip.

:arr: step by step guide for firstimers: [u]https://rail.cc/en/first-time-interrail[/u]

iaink

Userpic

JD
Traveller
6 comments

replied 16 years ago

Thanks for the reply.

As I reckon to be going around for about 2-3 months what so you recommend as regards getting another month long ticket after the first expires? Can they be bought at any train station?

Also as regards accommodation would you recommend booking the whole 2-3 months before I go or say book the first month and then as I travel book the next?

Thanks again

Userpic

admin
Traveller
203 comments

replied 16 years ago

Hi,