Userpic

Palace_Sam
Traveller
0 comments

Posted 15 years ago

Hi All,
My girlfriend and I are interailing this august for 30 days, and plan to do a mixture of camping, and staying in hostels. I'm a complete rookie when it comes to camping, and wanted some advice about taking a sleeping mat, sleeping bag and tent, as I need to carry it all with me. I'm guessing I should buy a backpack that's 55-65 in size, but am not sure how I'll fit my clothing and things, and then my sleeping bag, tent etc etc
Any advice would be great!

Thanks,

Sam

Follow this topic
Userpic

willwild
Traveller
1 comments

replied 15 years ago

hi mate
im in a similar boat to yourself, i don't really no what to take but i think u'll need a bigger bag at least 70 litres
hope that helps
will

Userpic

SiDUDe
Traveller
752 comments

replied 15 years ago

if you are disciplined, you can manage with 60 liters, as long as you split the tent and dont splurge on clothes etc. If you are festivaling, get a cheap tent that you wont mind getting trashed, and, if your going in the summer, get a light 1 season bag, or just take a liner.

Userpic

MariaRK
Traveller
13 comments

replied 15 years ago

Hey there.
My boyfriend and I are doing the exact same thing on a global one month pas.
We've bought a 3persons tent weighing aprox 3 kilos, and fairly cheap/thin mat (don't wanna bother carrying that huge thing around).
We won't be bringing huge sleeping bags, only liners. We found some in polyester for around 10 euros - we're poor students, no money for silk luxury :P
I'd rather sleep with some extra clothes on than bring a heavy sleeping bag.

We are both bringing a 70 litre. Not that we really wanted a pack that big, but it was on sale with a 70% discount... couldn't say no to that. We don't plan on filling it though.

All of this is just based on what we figure will work out for us. We haven't tried this before so we might figure out we could have done something smarter.